Kim Scott Walwyn Prize Winner 2015

Last night saw the tenth Kim Scott Walwyn Prize-Giving Ceremony at the Free Word Centre in Farringdon.

Founded in 2003, the prize honours the life and career of Kim Scott Walwyn and celebrates exceptional women in publishing. Run by Book Trust and sponsored by the Society of Young Publishers, the prize recognises the professional achievements and promise of women in the industry.

After a few words from SYP chair Anna Cunnane and Peter McKay of the Publishing Training Centre this year’s poignant keynote was given by novelist Kate Mosse OBE. Kate championed the self-submission element of the prize recommending that: “it is up to you to make things happen. Don't be afraid to promote yourself and look after your career”. Publishing is about passion and individual voices making a difference and so the prize perfectly complements this by highlighting women paving the way in their fields, being proud of doing so and being confident in saying that they are.

From all at Inspired Selection we would like to wish a very big congratulations to this year’s winner Rebecca Lewis-Oakes, Editor at Puffin Books!

We would also like to wish congratulations to the entire shortlist, a fantastic line-up of female role models in our industry:

Brianna Corbett - Production Archivist, Taylor & Francis Group

Anna James - Books News and Media Editor, The Bookseller

Nisha Doshi - Commissioning Editor, Cambridge University Press

Jo Unwin - Literary Agent, Jo Unwin Literary Agency